Axis Bank Shoppers Stop Credit Card vs Rbl Platinum Maxima Plus Card: Which is Better in 2026?

Axis Bank Shoppers Stop Credit Card vs Rbl Platinum Maxima Plus Card

The Axis Bank Shoppers Stop Credit Card and the RBL Platinum Maxima Plus Card cater to different spending preferences. Axis Bank's card is tailored for shoppers at Shoppers Stop with focused reward points on exclusive brands, while the RBL card emphasizes accelerated rewards across international purchases, dining, entertainment, and grocery. Both cards charge forex markup fees of 3.5%, but differ significantly in fees, lounge access, and milestone rewards.

Comparison notes and quick badges use AI, grounded in the benefit data shown in the table. Confirm details on each issuer’s site.

Last updated:

Best for rewards → Rbl Platinum Maxima Plus Card
Best for travel → Rbl Platinum Maxima Plus Card
Best for low fee → Axis Bank Shoppers Stop Credit Card
Best for beginners → Axis Bank Shoppers Stop Credit Card
Feature Axis Bank Shoppers Stop Credit Card Rbl Platinum Maxima Plus Card
BankAxis BankRBL Bank
NetworkMasterCardMasterCard
Joining feeJoining Fee of Rs.500
Annual / renewal feeAnnual Fee - Rs.500Renewal Fee of Rs.2500
Annual fee waiverSpend Rs.1 Lakhs For Annual Fee Waiver
Reward rate (headline)Earn 20 First Citizen Reward Points per Rs.200 spent on Shoppers Stop Exclusive Brands5X Reward Points on International Purchases
Lounge — domestic2 Complimentary Airport Lounge Access Per Quarter
Welcome benefitEnjoy First Citizen Reward Points Worth Rs.300Welcome Benefit - 10000 Reward Points
Milestone benefitEarn 10000 Bonus Reward Points on Spend of Rs.5 Lakhs; Earn 10000 Reward Points on Spend of Rs.2 Lakhs
Foreign currency markup3.50% - Foreign Currency Transactions3.5% - Foreign Currency Transactions

Which is better for rewards?

The RBL Platinum Maxima Plus Card offers more versatile and higher reward rates, especially with 5X points on international spends, dining, entertainment, and grocery categories, making it suitable for diverse spending habits. It also provides milestone bonuses on high annual spends, enhancing reward potential. In contrast, the Axis Bank Shoppers Stop Credit Card focuses rewards primarily on Shoppers Stop purchases with First Citizen Reward Points, which may appeal mainly to frequent shoppers at that retailer but lacks milestone benefits.

Which is better for travel?

For travel-related benefits, the RBL Platinum Maxima Plus Card is superior as it offers two complimentary domestic airport lounge accesses per quarter, which the Axis Bank Shoppers Stop Credit Card does not provide. Both cards have the same 3.5% forex markup fee, so neither has an advantage in foreign currency transaction costs. The RBL card's lounge access can enhance travel comfort, making it more travel-friendly overall.

Which has lower effective cost?

The Axis Bank Shoppers Stop Credit Card has a lower joining and renewal fee of Rs. 500 each, with an annual fee waiver on spending Rs. 1 lakh. The RBL Platinum Maxima Plus Card does not specify a joining fee but has a higher renewal fee of Rs. 2,500 without mention of a waiver. This makes the Axis Bank card more cost-effective for moderate spenders or those primarily shopping at Shoppers Stop, while the RBL card may justify its higher fee through richer rewards and lounge access for higher spenders.

Reward Focus and Milestones

The Axis Bank card focuses rewards on Shoppers Stop purchases with no milestone benefits, making it ideal for loyal shoppers there. The RBL card offers accelerated rewards in multiple categories plus milestone bonuses on spends of Rs. 2 lakhs, Rs. 3.5 lakhs, and Rs. 5 lakhs annually, rewarding higher spenders more effectively.

Lounge Access

Only the RBL Platinum Maxima Plus Card provides complimentary domestic airport lounge access (2 per quarter), enhancing travel convenience. The Axis Bank Shoppers Stop Credit Card does not offer any lounge access benefits.

Who should pick Axis Bank Shoppers Stop Credit Card?

Consider Axis Bank Shoppers Stop Credit Card if you frequently shop at Shoppers Stop and want focused rewards on exclusive brands there. It is also suitable if you prefer a lower fee credit card with an annual fee waiver on reasonable spend and are less concerned about travel perks or milestone bonuses.

Who should pick Rbl Platinum Maxima Plus Card?

Consider RBL Platinum Maxima Plus Card if you seek a credit card with broad accelerated rewards across international purchases, dining, entertainment, and groceries. It is also a good choice if you value complimentary domestic airport lounge access and can leverage milestone bonuses through higher annual spending despite the higher renewal fee.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the annual fees for both cards?

Axis Bank Shoppers Stop Credit Card charges Rs. 500 as joining and renewal fees with an annual fee waiver on spending Rs. 1 lakh. RBL Platinum Maxima Plus Card has a renewal fee of Rs. 2,500; joining fee is not specified.

Do both cards charge forex markup fees?

Yes, both cards charge a forex markup fee of 3.5% on foreign currency transactions.

Which card offers airport lounge access?

RBL Platinum Maxima Plus Card offers 2 complimentary domestic airport lounge accesses per quarter. Axis Bank Shoppers Stop Credit Card does not provide lounge access.

Are there milestone rewards available on these cards?

Only the RBL Platinum Maxima Plus Card offers milestone rewards, including bonus reward points on annual spends of Rs. 2 lakhs, Rs. 3.5 lakhs, and Rs. 5 lakhs. The Axis Bank card does not have milestone benefits.

What kind of rewards do these cards offer?

Axis Bank Shoppers Stop Credit Card offers First Citizen Reward Points mainly on Shoppers Stop purchases. RBL Platinum Maxima Plus Card offers 5X reward points on international purchases, dining, entertainment, and grocery, plus 2 points per Rs. 100 spent elsewhere.