vs
In short: Kotak IndianOil has the lower annual fee (₹449 vs ₹500); both charge a 3.5% forex markup.
| Key facts | IRCTC SBI Platinum | Kotak IndianOil |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fee | ₹500 | ₹449 |
| Joining fee | Not listed | ₹449 |
| Annual fee waived | Not listed | On ₹50,000 annual spend |
| Lounge access | 4 railway lounge visits a year | Not listed |
| Forex markup | 3.5% | 3.5% |
From issuer benefit data, checked 23 Oct 2026. Rewards, milestones and welcome benefits are in the full table below.
The Irctc Sbi Platinum Rupay Card and the Kotak Indianoil Rupay Platinum Credit Card both operate on the Rupay network and cater to different spending preferences. The SBI card focuses on travel-related rewards with railway lounge access and IRCTC benefits, while the Kotak card emphasizes fuel and everyday spending rewards with higher points on dining, grocery, and fuel purchases. Both have similar forex markups but differ in fee structures and reward redemption values.
Comparison notes and quick badges use AI, grounded in the benefit data shown in the table. Confirm details on each issuer’s site.
Last updated:
| Feature | Irctc Sbi Platinum Rupay Card | Kotak Indianoil Rupay Platinum Credit Card |
|---|---|---|
| Bank | SBI Cards | Kotak Mahindra Bank |
| Network | Rupay | Rupay |
| Joining fee | — | Joining Fee of Rs.449 |
| Annual / renewal fee | Annual Fee of Rs.500 | Annual Fee of Rs.449 |
| Annual fee waiver | — | Spend Rs.50000 For Annual Fees Waiver |
| Reward rate (headline) | Earn 1 Reward Points Per Rs.125 Spent on Retail | Earn 3 Reward Points on Every Rs.150 |
| Lounge — domestic | Enjoy 4 Complimentary Railway Lounge Access in a Year | — |
| Welcome benefit | Welcome Benefits - 350 activation Bonus Reward Points | Welcome Benefit - Get 1000 Reward Points |
| Milestone benefit | Milestone benefits - Earn 500 Reward Points | — |
| Foreign currency markup | 3.5% - Foreign Currency Transactions | 3.5% - Foreign Currency Transactions |
When it comes to rewards, the Kotak Indianoil Rupay Platinum Credit Card offers a more diverse and higher earning potential, especially for fuel, dining, and grocery spends, with reward points capped but generally more generous than the SBI card. The SBI card provides rewards primarily on retail spends and IRCTC transactions with a simpler earning structure but a better redemption rate of 1 point = Rs.1 compared to Kotak's 0.25 value per point. Overall, Kotak's card suits users looking for varied category rewards, while SBI's card benefits those focused on travel-related spends.
The Irctc Sbi Platinum Rupay Card is better suited for travel-focused users as it offers four complimentary railway lounge accesses annually and rewards linked to IRCTC transactions. The Kotak Indianoil card does not provide any lounge access or specific travel benefits but does include a concierge service. Therefore, for railway travelers or those who frequently use IRCTC, the SBI card provides more relevant travel perks.
The Kotak Indianoil Rupay Platinum Credit Card has a lower annual fee of Rs.449 with a waiver option on spending Rs.50,000, making it more cost-effective for regular users. The SBI card charges Rs.500 annually without a stated waiver. Both cards have a forex markup of 3.5%. Kotak's card also has a joining fee of Rs.449, whereas SBI's joining fee is not specified. Considering fee waivers and joining fees, Kotak's card is generally more economical if you meet the waiver criteria.
The SBI card offers a superior reward redemption rate where 1 reward point equals Rs.1, particularly beneficial for IRCTC-related redemptions. In contrast, Kotak's card points redeem at Rs.0.25 each, which means you need more points to achieve the same value, affecting overall reward efficiency.
Both cards offer a 1% fuel surcharge waiver, but Kotak's waiver applies only to transactions at IndianOil outlets, while SBI's waiver is across all petrol pumps. This makes SBI's card more flexible for fuel surcharge savings if you use multiple fuel brands.
Kotak's card provides an annual fee waiver if you spend Rs.50,000 in a year, which can reduce the effective cost significantly for active users. The SBI card does not specify any fee waiver, so the annual fee applies regardless of spend.
Consider Irctc Sbi Platinum Rupay Card if you frequently travel by train and value complimentary railway lounge access along with straightforward rewards on IRCTC and retail spends. This card is also suitable if you prefer a higher redemption value for your reward points and are comfortable with a fixed annual fee without waiver options.
Consider Kotak Indianoil Rupay Platinum Credit Card if you seek higher rewards on fuel, dining, grocery, and UPI transactions, and want a lower annual fee with a waiver option. This card is ideal for everyday spenders who can leverage category-specific rewards and prefer a concierge service, even though it lacks travel lounge benefits.
The Irctc Sbi Platinum Rupay Card has an annual fee of Rs.500 with no stated waiver, while the Kotak Indianoil Rupay Platinum Credit Card charges Rs.449 annually with a waiver if you spend Rs.50,000.
The SBI card provides 4 complimentary railway lounge accesses per year. The Kotak card does not offer any domestic or international lounge access.
Both cards charge a forex markup fee of 3.5% on foreign currency transactions.
The Kotak Indianoil Rupay Platinum Credit Card offers 24 reward points per Rs.150 spent on IndianOil outlets, which is higher than the SBI card's fuel surcharge waiver but no specific fuel rewards.
Yes, the SBI card offers 350 activation bonus reward points, while the Kotak card provides 1000 welcome reward points upon meeting the minimum spend criteria.
The SBI card charges Rs.250 for card replacement and 2.5% on cash advances. The Kotak card's fees for these services are not specified in the data and should be checked on the issuer's site.